Popsicles, especially homemade ones, are what I love most about summer. They are a snack/drink hybrid and they cost less than a dollar to make! Who doesn’t love that? When I was little I would love to help make (and eat) Cherry Kool-Aid pops. Now, at 23, I wanted to make an adult friendly version without sacrificing the ice-cold portable goodness. I had heard of  “vodka pops”  (vodka + Kool Aid/ juice), but had never tried them. Because the margarita is a classic summertime cocktail, I thought it would be a good place to start.

Ingredients:

Makes 4 small popsicles..and a little for the chef.

1/4 cup lime juice

1/4 cup Cointreau or other orange liqueur

1/4 cup Tequila*

3/4 cup water

1 1/2 tbsp sugar

Splash of orange juice (optional)

*I used 1/3 cup of Tequila and my popsicles came out like delicious wet snow, I would suggest using a little less.

Directions

1) Mix all ingredients and pour into plastic/paper cups or popsicle mold.

2) Freeze overnight and enjoy the next day.

